Karnataka election 2023 live update: Vote timings, key constituencies, candidates, other details

Karnataka election 2023 live update;KarnatakaKarnataka election 2023 Assembly karnataka-election-2023-in-english election 2023: ThereKarnataka election 2023  Curtains came down on the high decibel are 224 seats in the House and the winning side needs to secure at least 113 seat campaigning for the Karnataka Assembly polls Monday evening, setting the stage for the mega ballot battle on May 10.
contention — the BJP, Congress, and JD(S) — and their With the stakes being high this election, the major political parties in candidates have made a strong pitch seeking to boost their prospects at the hustings.
The top guns of all the major political parties were on a campaign blitz across the state in the past few days.

Modi juggernaut, wants to break the 38-year-old jinx and retain While the ruling  riding on the  its southern citadel, the Congress wants to wrest power to give the party much-needed elbow room and momentum to position itself as the main opposition player in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

BJP national leaders have heldwhile its state leaders have held 231 public  a total of 206 public meetings and 90 roadshows,  meetings and 48 road shows, the party said.

For the , wresting power fromelectoral fortunes and strengthenin the BJP would be a morale booster and the key to reviving its g its credentials as the main opposition player against the BJP ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Rajasthan.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

The party has set a target of winning 150 seats. This election is also a prestige battle for the grand old party, with a Kannadiga Kharge, who hails from Kalaburagi district, being at its helm as the national president.

The party has held 99 public meetings and 33 road shows by its top state and central leaders.

Will the 2023 Karnataka is Assembly polls be a another battle of political survival for JD(S) or will the regional party once again emerge as kingmaker, as it did in 2018, in the event of a hung verdict? That is the debate in political circles this time too.

Plagued by desertionsGowda’s son Kumaraswamy and internal rifts, and with the image of being a “family party”, , has in a way single-handedly managed the JD(S) campaign across the state, with his aging father taking the back seat.

Though the 89-year-old Deve Gowda initially stayed away from campaigning due to age-related ailments, he has been travelling and campaigning for JD(S) candidates in the past couple of weeks, especially in the party bastion

Karnataka election assembly seats

There are 224 seats in the House and the winning side needs to secure at least 113 seats.

Karnataka Assembly election: Key Constituencies

Shiggaon: Karnataka’s incumbent Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is contesting from the Shiggaon constituency. Bommai has won from here three consectutive times–2008, 2013, and in 2018, respectively. In 2018, Bommai won the seat against Congress’ Sayed Azeempeer Khadari with a margin of over 9,000 votes.

Kanakapura: This constituency comes under Bengaluru (Rural) Lok Sabha seat. It is the home turf of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president and Vokkaliga strongman DK Shivakumar. DK has won this constituency since 2008 In 2018, Shivakumar won the seat by defeating Narayana Gowda of the Janata Dal (Secular) with a margin of 79909 votes.

This time, Shivakumar will be facing revenue minister and BJP leader R Ashoka.

Channapatna: This political hot seat will witness a battle among JD(S) leader and two-time Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, BJP candidate CP Yogeshwar and Congress’ Gangadhar S.

Shikaripura: It is the sole constituency in Karnataka where BJP has won consistently-losing only twice since 1983 when the party contested the Karnataka Assembly election for the first time after its founding.

The BJP has fielded party veteran and former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa’s son BY Vijayendra from the Shikaripura constituency in Shivamogga.

Ramanagara: Former Karnataka CHhief Minister HD Deve Gowda’s grandson Nikhil Kumaraswamy is testing the waters from Ramanagara following his disastrous debut in politics in 2019. In the bastion of Gowda’s family, the 35-year-old Nikhil Kumaraswamy is being challenged by Congress veteran HA Iqbal Hussain and BJP’s Gowtham Gowda.

Congress’ vote base is spread evenly across the state, the BJP’s is pronounced in the north and central regions due to the concentration of the Veerashaiva-Lingayat community in the belt, which forms its major vote bank. JD(S) dominates the Vokkaliga bastion of the Old Mysuru (southern Karnataka) region. Of Karnataka’s population, Lingayats constitute about 17%, Vokkaligas 15%, OBCs 35%, SC/STs 18%, Muslims about 12.92% and Brahmins about 3%. The BJP has set a target of winning at least 150 seats to ensure an absolute majority. It wants to avoid a 2018-like situation, when it had initially lost out on forming government despite emerging as the single largest party, and had to depend on defections of Congress and JD(S) MLAs to establish its administration later.

Karnataka election: Polling stations, voters count, other details

As many as 58,282 polling stations will be set up in the state. The average voter per polling station is pegged at 883. A total of 1,320 polling stations will be managed by women officials.

Among the over 5,24 crore voters, over 5.60 lakh have been identified as persons with disability.

About Karnataka’s elections history:

No political party has won a successive mandate in the state since 1985. It remains to be seen whether the ruling BJP will buck a four-decade-old trend to script history or if the Congress upstages its saffron rival to up its stakes as a challenger ahead of the 2024 parliamentary polls.

Leave a Comment